الميسر الرسمي

رئيسي

العلاج الإشعاعي في سرطان المستقيم

العلاج الإشعاعي يستخدم الإشعاع المؤين على محاربة الخلايا السرطانية. وغالبا ما تستخدم هذه الطريقة فيعلاج سرطان المستقيم. وعادة ما يتم دمجها مع العلاج الكيميائي - المخدرات 5-FU وكابسيتابين. التخلاء بتوعية الخلايا الشاذة إلى التعرض للإشعاع.

تقدم مستشفى اسوتا خدمات العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم في معهد العلاج الإشعاعي والجراحة الإشعاعية في العيادة. فوائد اختيار:

  • عريضة القدرات التقنية - المعدات والمواد الحديثة.
  • تدريب مهنية عالية من الأطباء وخبرة كبيرة.
  • أقل تأثير سلبي على الأنسجة السليمة من خلال تطبيق مجموعة واسعة من التقنيات التي تقلل من الآثار الجانبية المحتملة.

العلاج الإشعاعي في سرطان المستقيم

+ العلاج الإشعاعي في الاستعراضات سرطان المستقيممن المستحسن العلاج الإشعاعي في هذا المرض:

  • قبل الجراحة.
  • بعد الجراحة.
  • لعلاج أعراض السرطان المنتشر.

استعدادا لالإشعاعي في سرطان المستقيم

الطبيب يعطي المريض على المعلومات التالية:

  • أن العلاج يكون العلاج الإشعاعي الداخلي أو الخارجي.
  • الغرض من الإشعاع - العلاجية أو الملطفة.
  • العدد المطلوب من الدورات.
  • مزايا وعيوب العلاج الإشعاعي.
  • الآثار الجانبية على المدى القصير والطويل.
  • أي مخاطر.
  • العلاجات البديلة الممكنة.

وسيكون من المفيد لكتابة قائمة من الأسئلة وطرح فريق من الأطباء في عملية التواصل.

إذا كان المريض - امرأة في سن الإنجاب، فمن المهم ألا تصبح حاملا أثناء العلاج. تشعيع ضرر على الجنين.

إذا كان المريض يعاني من جهاز تنظيم ضربات القلب، وأجهزة القلب القابلة للزرع أو زراعة القوقعة، تحتاج إلى إبلاغ الطبيب. قد تتأثر هذه الأجهزة من قبل العلاج الإشعاعي.

العلاج الإشعاعي الخارجي قبل الجراحة

الأطباء تشير إلى أشعة سرطان المستقيم قبل الجراحة لتقليل خطر الانتكاس وتقليل كمية من الورم، والجراحة لجعله أسهل لحذفها.

إذا خبيثة غير قابلة للتشغيل، وسوف، على الأرجح، وقد تم تعيين لفترة قصيرة من 5 العلاج الإشعاعي قبل أسبوع من الجراحة. وهذا تدمير عدد كبير من الخلايا السرطانية، فضلا عن الحد من احتمال أن الخلايا السرطانية انتشرت. في وقت واحد مع العلاج الإشعاعي يمكن القيام بهاالعلاج الكيميائي (5-FU أو كابسيتابين) - chemoradiotherapy.

إذا كان الورم كبير، قد تحتاج مسار أطول من العلاج قبل الجراحة - حوالي 5 أشهر. قد يكون من الضروري لتحقيق وقت واحد من العلاج الكيميائي. وقد نفذت العملية بعد عدة أسابيع من التعرض، وعندما يتم تقليل الورم.

العلاج الإشعاعي الداخلي لسرطان المستقيم

هذا النوع من العلاج الإشعاعي ينطوي على وضع مصدر مشع قرب الورم الخبيث في الجسم - العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي. هناك نوعان منها: ارتفاع والاتصال.

HDR العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي، والذي يوفر الإشعاع مباشرة إلى الورم. ويتم ذلك إلا إذا كان موجودا في ورم في الثلث الأوسط أو السفلي من المستقيم. عادة، قبل الجراحة. ويتمثل التحدي في تقليل حجمها، لتسهيل عملية الإزالة.

قبل الإجراء، يتم إعطاء المريض المسكنات. يقوم الطبيب بإدخال أنبوب في المستقيم، ويجلب بالقرب من الورم. أشعة يأخذ صورة للتأكد من أن الموقع الصحيح. ويرد أنبوب لمعدات توفير العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي. باستخدام جهاز التحكم عن بعد من مصدر مشع عن بعد يتم نقله من خلال أنبوب إلى موقف محدد مسبقا لتوفير الجرعة الصحيحة من أشعة الورم. يستمر الإجراء 10-15 دقيقة. وقد نفذت العملية في غضون بضعة أسابيع.

ووفقا للدراسة، والناس الذين تلقوا العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي، ونادرا ما تحتاج إلى إنشاء فغر القولون، من أولئك الذين تلقوا العلاج الإشعاعي الخارجي. حاليا لا يوجد أي معلومات عما إذا كان العلاج الإشعاعي يحسن البقاء على قيد الحياة الداخلية.

يستخدم العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي الاتصال الجرعات المنخفضة من الإشعاع لمكافحة السرطان. وتسمى هذه التقنية بابيلون. فمن المستحسن فقط للأورام صغيرة أقل من 3 سم في مرحلة مبكرة حيث توجد موانع لإجراء عملية جراحية. الاتصال الموضعي ويمكن أيضا أن تقدم، إذا كان المريض يرفض الجراحة والثغر. يتم تنفيذ الإجراء في العيادة الخارجية، أنها لا تتطلب التخدير العام. هذه التقنية متوفرة فقط في بعض المستشفيات.

ويسبق العلاج عن طريق اتباع نظام غذائي مع اتباع نظام غذائي منخفض الألياف لمدة 3 أيام. قبل إجراء العملية، وجعل حقنة شرجية، يتم تطبيق مخدر موضعي حول فتحة الشرج. يفحص الطبيب المستقيم بواسطة منظار السيني. يدخل بلطف على قضيب من خلالها يتم وضع الأنبوب، الذي يوفر الإشعاع. توصيله إلى جهاز الكمبيوتر، وإجراء يدوم حوالي دقيقة واحدة، ولكن البقاء في منصبه عموما سيكون حوالي ساعة.

ستعقد الدورة المقبلة في غضون أسبوعين. وهناك عدد من العلاجات تعتمد على الجسم رد فعل. إذا لا تأثير متابعة أوصى العلاج الإشعاعي الخارجي مع / بدون العلاج الكيميائي. أم ستكون عملية جراحية المطروحة.

ووفقا للدراسة، هو أعلى قليلا مقارنة من خطر تكرار مع الجراحة. وعاد السرطان بعد العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي الاتصال في من 10 100 (10٪)، وبعد وسائل أخرى لديها 1-4 من أصل 100 (4.1٪).

بعد الاتصال بالأشعة يتطلب مراقبة دقيقة كما تشمل الآثار الجانبية المحتملة:

  • حفرة التعليم في المستقيم أو المثانة.
  • تضييق (تضيق) من فتحة الشرج.
  • حدوث ناسور بين المستقيم والمثانة أو المهبل.

العلاج الإشعاعي في سرطان المستقيم بعد الجراحة

العلاج الإشعاعي بعد الجراحة يمكن أن تقدم في الحالات التالية:

  • الورم من الصعب إزالتها.
  • ويعتقد الجراح أن الخلايا السرطانية لا تزال قائمة.
  • ظهرت السرطان من خلال جدار الأمعاء وانتشار إلى الغدد الليمفاوية القريبة.

هذا العلاج يستغرق 4 إلى 5 أسابيع. وتتم الإجراءات من خلال الأسبوع، فقد ما مجموعه 20-25 الكسور. العلاج الإشعاعي في شكل غرامات يقلل من آثار غير مرغوب فيها على الأنسجة السليمة. كما قد يكون العلاج الكيميائي الموصى بها بالتزامن مع الإشعاع.

ويسبق العلاج الإشعاعي عن بعد عن طريق التخطيط الدقيق، وتحسب كمية التعرض للإشعاع، والمكان من سرطان القولون والمستقيم. التخطيط يضمن أن الإشعاع ستوجه بدقة إلى الورم، وبالتالي من شأنها أن تتسبب أقل الأضرار التي لحقت الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة بها. ومن المقرر العلاج على أساس فردي السريري الاورام، الفيزياء والأشعة. الاجتماع الأول عادة ما يستغرق 30-60 دقيقة. الموظفين في معهد العلاج الإشعاعي يقول لنا ما يمكن توقعه، وإعداد مقدما للمريض.

يقوم CT يظهر مسح الورم وهيكل حوله. وهذا يساعد على خطة الأورام والفيزيائي المنطقة المحددة للعلاج الإشعاعي. أثناء الفحص CT يخلق صورة ثلاثية الأبعاد، يتم استخدام الصبغة، فإنه يجعل أكثر وضوحا في كل جزء من أجزاء الجسم إذا لزم الأمر. بدلا من CT أو MRI تتم أحيانا PET.

من أجل أن المريض يوضع في موقف ثابت خلال التشعيع لسرطان المستقيم قد تتطلب أدوات خاصة أو أقنعة. وهكذا، فإن العلاج الإشعاعي يكون أكثر دقة وكفاءة. وتستخدم نماذج للحفاظ على القدمين أو اليدين، أو أجزاء أخرى من الجسم في وضع ثابت. تطبق على العلامات الخاصة الجلد للاحتفال المكان الذي سيتم توجيه الإشعاع.

خلال العلاج الإشعاعي تتطلب عناية بالبشرة خاصة في منطقة العلاج. وسيقوم الأطباء إعطاء المشورة حول كيفية رعاية للبشرة. ويوصى عموما لتجنب استخدام الصابون المعطر والمستحضرات في العلاج. بعض الأطعمة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفاقم الألم.

ويتم العلاج الإشعاعي في حجرة خاصة في الأسبوع. مدته قبل الجراحة - 1-5 أسابيع، ومدة تأثير حجم ونوع الورم. إذا تم إجراء أشعة بعد الجراحة، وبالطبع هو عادة 4-5 أسابيع، وأحيانا 6-7.

العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم المتقدم

إذا كان هناك الآفات الثانوية، والعلاج الإشعاعي لا علاج هذا المرض. تتكون مهمتها في الحد من وتباطؤ نمو الورم. إشعاع يمكن أن يخفف من أعراض مثل ألم في الحوض أو المستقيم أو نزيف.

ويمكن أن تشمل الانبثاث العلاج الإشعاعي الإجراءات واحد أو أكثر. فصيل يستغرق بضع دقائق، يجب عليك كذبة لا يزال.

إذا كان السرطان قد انتشر إلى الكبد، ويمكن استخدام أساليب المتخصصة - العلاج الإشعاعي المجسم أو العلاج الإشعاعي الداخلي انتقائي.

الآثار غير المرغوب فيها ممكنة من العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم

إشعاع قد يسبب بعض الآثار الجانبية. وعادة ما تظهر هذه الآثار تدريجيا وتشمل الأعراض التالية.

  1. التعب. خلال فترة العلاج، فإن المريض قد تجد أنه أصبح أكثر بالتعب. في معظم الأحيان لاحظ هذا العرض خلال العلاج الإشعاعي، وذلك نتيجة للمعاملة نفسها. ومن المهم للحصول على بقية عند الحاجة. ستعود بالنفع على تنفيذ تمارين بسيطة كل يوم.
  2. الإسهال. الطبيب قد يصف أدوية للحد من هذه الأعراض. فمن الضروري شرب الكثير من السوائل.
  3. الغثيان. فإن المريض يكون هناك الشهية والرغبة في شرب الماء، اذا كان يشعر المرضى. إذا كان لديك مشاكل مع الطعام، فمن الممكن أن تعطي الأفضلية للمشروبات ذات السعرات الحرارية العالية.
  4. كثرة التبول. المستقيم هو قريب جدا من المثانة. لذلك، العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم قد تهيج الغشاء المخاطي للمثانة البولية. في بعض الأحيان، مريض هناك حالة مشابهة لالتهاب المثانة، عدوى المثانة. كما يمكن أن تشعر بالحاجة، عندما يكون الجسم فارغ، وبحرقان أثناء التبول. ومن المهم أن تشرب الكثير من السوائل كما ممكن. كثير من الناس يعتقدون أن شرب عصير التوت البري يمكن أن يكون مفيدا في حالة حدوث مشاكل مع المثانة. ومع ذلك، عصير التوت البري يزيد من آثار الوارفارين (تخثر). لذلك، إذا كان الشخص يأخذ الوارفارين عدم شرب عصير التوت البري. بعد العلاج من التهاب تمرير المثانة. إذا واجهت الألم يجب أن أخبر طبيبك. وهذا قد يكون علامة على الإصابة وتتطلب العلاج بالمضادات الحيوية.
  5. التهاب الجلد. العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم قد يسبب الألم وتهيج في الجلد حول فتحة الشرج، أنه حساس جدا. أحيانا احمرار وألم أثناء العلاج الإشعاعي. لا بد من استخدامه في رعاية من الماء العادي، الصابون العادي وقطعة قماش ناعمة. والطبيب سوف يعطي كريم لحماية البشرة ويساعدها على الشفاء بشكل أسرع. لا ينبغي أن تستخدم المعطرة أو الصابون الطبي، أي المستحضرات، وإذا لم تناقش سابقا مع طبيب مختص. عندما الانزعاج أثناء الجلوس، يمكنك استخدام وسادة لينة. بعد العلاج، والألم انخفاضا تدريجيا على مدى عدة أسابيع.

الآثار السلبية على المدى الطويل من العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم

العلاج الإشعاعي هو قادرة على تحريك آثار جانبية على المدى الطويل في بعض الناس أكثر من غيرهم. ومن المقرر العلاج بعناية للحد من عدد من العواقب السلبية المحتملة.

ليس كل مريض يمر العلاج الإشعاعي، تحدث مثل هذه الأعمال. في بعض الحالات، يتم تطبيع الحالة بعد العلاج قريبا. لكن في بعض الأحيان أعراض على المدى القصير لا تزال قائمة وتصبح على المدى الطويل. يحدث أن مظاهر مؤقتة تذهب، ولكن تطوير اضطرابات طويلة الأجل في الأمعاء أو المثانة. بعد الانتهاء من دورة العلاج الإشعاعي، فإنها يمكن أن تحدث في بضعة أشهر لمدة تصل إلى سنتين.

الآثار الطويلة الأمد للعلاج الإشعاعي وتشمل:

  • الإسهال.
  • كرسي الخاص.
  • سلس البول والغائط.
  • سوء امتصاص العناصر الغذائية في الأمعاء، مما يؤدي إلى فقدان الوزن.

العلاج الإشعاعي يمكن أيضا أن تؤثر على المثانة، مما تسبب في:

  • سلس البول.
  • فقدان مرونة جدار المثانة، مما يؤدي إلى كثرة التبول.
  • زيادة هشاشة الأوعية الدموية، مما أثار دم في البول.

العلاج قد يؤثر على الحياة الجنسية، مما تسبب في:

  • انقطاع الطمث المبكر.
  • صعوبات في الانتصاب.
  • فقدان الخصوبة.
  • جفاف وتضييق المهبل، مما يؤدي إلى الجنس مؤلمة.

ومن المهم أن تتفاعل مع طبيبك إذا تطور أي من هذه الآثار الجانبية. هناك طرق للتخفيف منها أو السيطرة عليها. في بعض الأحيان حالات أخرى، مثل العدوى، ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى الأعراض التي تتطور إلى الآثار الجانبية على المدى الطويل.

استعراض العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان المستقيم في اسوتا إيجابي جدا، لأن العلاج تلبي أعلى المعايير الدولية.

ويرأس المعهد من قبل طبيب الأشعة الرائدة في إسرائيل - سفيتلانا Zalmanova.

منشأة طبية مجهزة بأحدث نماذج من المعجلات الخطية، والدعوة موجهة فقط أفضل المهنيين للعمل في اسوتا.

تطبيق للعلاج

هذا من تقديم خلال، النموذج موافقتك يعني على سياسة الخصوصية

تعليقات

رينات 2 سنوات، 5 أشهر

اعتقد انها فكرة عظيمة. وأنا أتفق معك.

رابط | إجابة

جديد تعليق

بالضرورة

بالتأكيد (لن يتم نشره)

home

Radiation therapy in rectal cancer

Radiotherapy uses ionizing radiation to fight cancer cells. This method is often used in thetreatment of rectal cancer. Usually it is combined with chemotherapy - drugs 5-FU and capecitabine. Cytostatics sensitize abnormal cells to radiation exposure.

Assuta Hospital offers services radiotherapy for rectal cancer at the Institute for radiotherapy and radiosurgery at the clinic. The benefits of choosing:

  • broad technical capabilities - modern equipment and materials;
  • high professional training of doctors and a great experience;
  • the least adverse effect on healthy tissue by applying a wide variety of techniques which reduce the potential side effects.

Radiation therapy in rectal cancer

+ radiotherapy in rectal cancer reviewsRadiotherapy in this disease is recommended:

  • Before surgery.
  • After surgery.
  • For the treatment of symptoms of metastatic cancer.

Preparation for radiotherapy in rectal cancer

The doctor gives the patient the following information:

  • treatment would be an internal or external radiotherapy;
  • the purpose of irradiation - curative or palliative;
  • required number of sessions;
  • advantages and disadvantages of radiotherapy;
  • short and long term side effects;
  • any risks;
  • possible alternative treatments.

 It would be useful to write a list of questions and ask a team of doctors in the process of communication.

If the patient - a woman of childbearing age, it is important not to become pregnant during therapy. Irradiation of harm to the fetus.

If the patient has a pacemaker, implantable cardiac devices or cochlear implant, you need to notify the doctor. These devices may be affected by radiation therapy.

External radiotherapy before surgery

Doctors refer to the irradiation of rectal cancer before surgery to reduce the risk of relapse and reduce the amount of tumor, surgery to make it easier to remove it.

If malignancy is operable, it will, most likely, has been appointed a short course of 5 radiotherapy treatments a week before surgery. This will destroy a large number of cancer cells, as well as reduce the likelihood that cancer cells spread. Simultaneously with radiation therapy can be carried outchemotherapy (5-FU or capecitabine) - chemoradiotherapy.

If the tumor is large, you may need a longer course of treatment before surgery - about 5 months. It may be necessary to the simultaneous fulfillment of chemotherapy. The operation was carried out several weeks after exposure, when the tumor is reduced.

Internal radiation therapy for rectal cancer

This type of radiotherapy involves placement of a radioactive source near malignancy within the body - the brachytherapy. There are two types of it: high-and contact.

HDR brachytherapy, which provides radiation directly to the tumor. It is carried out only if the tumor is located in the middle or lower third of the rectum. Typically, prior to surgery. The challenge is to reduce its volume, to facilitate the removal process.

Before the procedure, the patient is given a sedative. The doctor inserts a tube into the rectum, brings close to the tumor. The radiologist takes a picture to make sure the correct location. The tube is attached to the equipment providing brachytherapy. Since the radioactive source by the remote control is moved through the tube to a predetermined position to provide a correct dose of the tumor irradiation. The procedure lasts 10-15 minutes. The operation was carried out in a few weeks.

According to the study, people who received brachytherapy, rarely need to create a colostomy, than those who received external radiation therapy. At present time there is no information whether radiotherapy improves survival interior.

Contact brachytherapy uses low doses of radiation to fight cancer. This technique is called Papillon. It is recommended only for small tumors less than 3 cm at an early stage where there are contraindications for surgery. Contact brachytherapy can also offer, if the patient refuses surgery and stoma. The procedure is performed on an outpatient basis, it does not require general anesthesia. This technique is only available in some hospitals.

Treatment is preceded by a diet with a low-fiber diet for 3 days. Before the procedure, make an enema, a local anesthetic is applied around the anus. The doctor examines the rectum by a sigmoidoscope. Gently enters the applicator through which the tube is placed, which provides radiation. Connect it to a computer, the procedure lasts about a minute, but generally stay in office will be about an hour.

The next session will be held in two weeks. A number of treatments will depend on the reaction body. If the effect does not follow recommended external radiotherapy with / without chemotherapy. Or it will be offered surgery.

According to the study, the risk of recurrence is slightly higher compared with surgery. Cancer is returned after contact brachytherapy in 10 of 100 (10%), after other methods have 1-4 out of 100 (1.4%).

After contact radiotherapy requires careful observation as possible side effects include:

  • Education hole in the rectum or bladder.
  • Narrowing (stenosis) of the anus.
  • The occurrence of a fistula between the rectum and the bladder or vagina.

Radiation therapy in rectal cancer after surgery

Radiotherapy after surgery can be offered in the following cases:

  • The tumor is difficult to remove.
  • The surgeon believes that the cancer cells remained.
  • Cancer sprouted through the intestinal wall and spread to nearby lymph nodes.

This treatment takes 4 to 5 weeks. Procedures are carried out during the week, it has a total of 20-25 fractions. Radiotherapy in the form of fines reduces undesirable effects on healthy tissue. It may also be recommended chemotherapy concurrently with radiation.

Remote radiotherapy is preceded by careful planning, calculated the amount of radiation exposure and location of colorectal cancer. Planning ensures that the radiation will be directed precisely to the tumor, so that will cause the least damage to the surrounding healthy tissue. Treatment is planned on the basis of individual clinical oncologist, physicist and radiologist. The first meeting usually takes 30-60 minutes. The staff at the Institute of Radiotherapy tell us what to expect and prepare in advance of the patient.

Performed CT scan shows tumor and structure around it. This helps the oncologist and physicist plan the exact area for radiation therapy. During the CT scan creates a three-dimensional picture, the dye is used, it makes more explicit the individual parts of the body if necessary. Instead of CT or MRI is sometimes performed PET.

In order that the patient remained motionless position during irradiation of cancer of the rectum may require special tools or masks. Thus, radiation therapy will be the most accurate and efficient. Forms are used to keep the feet or hands, or other body parts in a fixed position. Applied to the skin special tags to mark the place where the radiation will be directed.

During radiotherapy require special skin care in the treatment zone. Doctors will give advice on how to care for the skin. It is generally recommended to avoid using scented soap, lotions in therapy. Some foods can aggravate the pain.

Radiation therapy is carried out in a special compartment in the week. Its duration before surgery - 1-5 weeks, the duration of effect size and type of tumor. If the irradiation is performed after surgery, the course is usually 4-5 weeks, sometimes 6-7.

Radiation therapy for advanced rectal cancer

If there is secondary lesions, radiation therapy will not cure the disease. Its task consists in reducing and slowing tumor growth. Irradiation can relieve symptoms such as pain in the pelvis or rectum or bleeding.

Metastases radiation therapy may include one or more procedures. Faction take a few minutes, you must lie still.

If the cancer has spread to the liver, may be used specialized methods - stereotactic radiation therapy or selective internal radiotherapy.

Possible unwanted effects of radiotherapy for rectal cancer

Irradiation may cause some side effects. These effects usually appear gradually and include the following symptoms.

  1. Fatigue. During treatment, the patient may find that he became tired more. Most often this symptom noted in the course of radiotherapy, as a result of the treatment itself. It is important to get a rest when needed. Will benefit the execution of simple exercises every day.
  2. Diarrhea. Doctor may prescribe medications to reduce this symptom. It is necessary to drink plenty of fluids.
  3. Nausea. The patient will be no appetite and the desire to drink the water, if he feels sick. If you have problems with the food, it is possible to give preference to high-calorie drinks.
  4. Frequent urination. The rectum is a very close to the bladder. Therefore, radiation therapy of cancer of the rectum can irritate the mucous membrane of the urinary bladder. Sometimes, a patient there is a condition that is similar to cystitis, a bladder infection. It can also feel the urge, when the body is empty, and a burning sensation during urination. It is important to drink as much liquid as possible. Many people believe that drinking cranberry juice can be helpful in case of problems with the bladder. However, cranberry juice increases the effects of warfarin (an anticoagulant). Therefore, if a person takes warfarin not to drink cranberry juice. After the treatment the inflammation of the bladder pass. If you experience pain you must notify your doctor. This may be a sign of infection and to require treatment with antibiotics.
  5. inflammation of the skin. Radiotherapy for rectal cancer may cause pain and irritation of the skin around the anus, it is very sensitive. Sometimes redness and pain during radiotherapy. It must be used in the care of plain water, plain soap and a soft cloth. The doctor will give the cream to protect your skin and help it heal faster. Should not use scented or medicinal soap, any lotions, if not previously discussed with a specialist. When the discomfort while sitting, you can use a soft cushion. After treatment, pain will decrease gradually over several weeks.

Long-term adverse effects of radiation therapy for rectal cancer

Radiotherapy is able to trigger long-term side effects in some people more than others. Treatment is carefully planned to reduce the number of possible negative consequences.

Not every patient who passes radiotherapy, such actions occur. In some cases, the condition is normalized soon after treatment. But sometimes short-term symptoms persist and become long-term. It happens that the temporary manifestations go, but develop a long-term disturbances in the intestines or bladder. After completing a course of radiotherapy, they can occur in a few months to up to two years.

The long-term effects of radiation therapy include:

  • diarrhea;
  • private chair;
  • fecal incontinence;
  • poor absorption of nutrients in the intestines, resulting in weight loss.

Radiotherapy can also affect the bladder, causing:

  • urinary incontinence;
  • loss of elasticity of the bladder wall, leading to frequent urination;
  • increased fragility of blood vessels, provoking blood in the urine.

The treatment may affect sex life, causing:

  • early menopause;
  • difficulties with erections;
  • fertility loss;
  • dryness and narrowing of the vagina, leading to painful sex.

It is important to interact with your doctor if you develop any of these side effects. There are ways to mitigate them or control. Sometimes other conditions, such as infection, can lead to symptoms that develop into long-term side effects.

Reviews of radiotherapy for rectal cancer in Assuta very positive, because the treatment meets the highest international standards.

The Institute is headed by a leading radiologist in Israel - Svetlana Zalmanova.

Medical facility equipped with the latest models of linear accelerators, to work only the best professionals are invited to Assuta.

APPLICATION FOR TREATMENT

Comments

Renat 6 months ago

I think it's a great idea. I agree with you.

link | Answer

new comment

necessarily

definitely (will not be published)