الميسر الرسمي

رئيسي

العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا في اسوتا

العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا الهرمونات يجري المواد الفعالة بيولوجيا، ويتم إنتاج في جسم الإنسان لتنظيم وظائفها. أنها تؤثر على الخلايا والأنسجة العمل في أجزاء مختلفة من الجسم عن طريق السفر من خلال مجرى الدم.

منشطات الذكورة - هو اسم لمجموعة من هرمونات الذكورة الستيرويد التي تتحكم في تطوير وصيانة الخصائص الجنسية الثانوية لدى الرجال. هرمون تستوستيرون وديهدروتستوسترون هم الأكثر الاندروجين المشترك. ويتم تصنيع ما يقرب من جميع التستوستيرون في الخصية، ويتم إنتاج كمية صغيرة من الغدد الكظرية. قد يكون خلايا البروستات السرطانية أيضا القدرة على إنتاج التستوستيرون.

كيف الهرمونات المساهمة في تطور سرطان البروستاتا؟

الأندروجين ضرورية للنمو الطبيعي وظيفة غدة البروستاتا، جهازا هاما في الجهاز التناسلي الذكري، والمساهمة في خلق الحيوانات المنوية. تساهم الهرمونات الذكرية لنمو كل من الخلايا الطبيعية والسرطانية عن طريق ملزمة لوتفعيل مستقبلات الاندروجين. بعد ذلك، أنها تحفز التعبير عن جينات معينة والتي تتسبب في نمو قطاعات الخبيثة.

في بداية لتطور الخلايا السرطانية تتطلب مستويات عالية نسبيا من الاندروجين في النمو. ويسمى هذا النوع من السرطان العلاج androgenozavisimym هنا يهدف إلى - الحد من كمية هرمون الذكورة أو منع نشاطها، وقمع نمو وتطور المرض الخبيث.

ومع ذلك، في معظم الحالات، وهذه الخلايا تصبح مقاومة، فإنها تستمر في النمو حتى عندما تكون كمية الاندروجين في الجسم منخفضة للغاية.

ما هي أنواع من العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا المستخدمة في اسوتا؟

العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا مصممة لتقليل ووقف توليف الاندروجين. الإجراءات التالية، يتم تحديد خيار من خصائص الحالة الخاصة لهذا المرض:

  1. خفض إنتاج هرمونات الذكورة في الخصيتين.
  2. عرقلة أعمالهم في الجسم.
  3. وقف إنتاج الأندروجين في الجسم.

خفض إنتاج هرمونات الذكورة في الخصيتين

الإجراءات التي تقلل من الاندروجين التوليف في الخصيتين، وغالبا ما تنفذ مع العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا . وتشمل هذه استئصال الخصية، منبهات إفراز هرمون الهرمون (ال اتش ار اتش) منبهات، ومكافحة الاندروجين، الاستروجين.

استئصال الخصية في العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا

استئصال الخصية - إجراء العمليات الجراحية لإزالة واحد أو كلا الخصيتين. ويمكن أن انخفاض مستويات هرمون التستوستيرون في الدم عن طريق 90-95٪. ويسمى هذا النوع من العلاج الإخصاء الجراحي، هو دائم ولا رجعة فيه. يمثل استئصال الخصية تحت المحفظة الأنسجة الوحيد استئصال إنتاج الاندروجين، وليس الجهاز بالكامل.

هرمون ناهضات الهرمون لإفراز هرمون (ال اتش ار اتش)

الأدوية تسمى مستقبلات الافراج عن هرمون الهرمون (ال اتش ار اتش)، إفراز تمنع من الهرمون. تسمى منبهات ال اتش ار اتش ال اتش ار اتش أحيانا. هذا الاصطناعية البروتينات التي تشبه هيكليا إلى ال اتش ار اتش الطبيعي، وربط لمستقبلات ال اتش ار اتش في الغدة النخامية. (ويسمى أيضا ال اتش ار اتش هرمون موجهة الغدد التناسلية الإفراج).

عادة، عندما يكون مستوى هرمون الذكورة في الجسم منخفضة، ال اتش ار اتش يسبب الغدة النخامية على إنتاج الهرمون الذي يساهم في بدوره إلى إنتاج الاندروجين في الخصية. منبهات ال اتش ار اتش، وتوليفها من قبل ال اتش ار اتش الجسم، الهرمون تسهيل صياغة. ومع ذلك، مستويات عالية باستمرار من منبهات ال اتش ار اتش في الجسم يسبب في الواقع الغدة النخامية لإيقاف إنتاج الهرمون الذي يؤثر على اصطناع التستوستيرون. ويسمى ال اتش ار اتش العلاج ناهض الإخصاء الطبي (أحيانا الكيميائية) لأنه يتم استخدام المخدرات، والحد من محتوى الاندروجين بالقدر نفسه كما هو الحال مع الإخصاء الجراحي (استئصال الخصية). ومع ذلك، تأثيرها على إنتاج الأندروجين هو عكسها. بمجرد توقف العلاج، واستأنفت التوليف عادة.

تدار منبهات ال اتش ار اتش عن طريق الحقن أو غرس تحت الجلد. وتشمل الأدوية المعتمدة لعلاج سرطان البروستاتا يوبروليد، غوسيريلين، buserelin.

عندما يتلقى المرضى ناهض ال اتش ار اتش للمرة الأولى، وربما شيء من هذا القبيل "مضيئة التستوستيرون". هذا زيادة مؤقتة في مستوى هرمون لأن هذه الأدوية لفترة قصيرة لتحفيز الغدة النخامية لتجميع كميات كبيرة من LH قبل قفل عليه. ومضة هي قادرة على الحط من أعراض هذا المرض الذي يمكن أن يكون مشكلة بالنسبة للرجال مع متقدمة من المرض.

مضادات ال اتش ار اتش في العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا في اسوتا

دعا الخصوم ال اتش ار اتش الأدوية هي شكل آخر من أشكال الإخصاء الطبي. هذه الأدوية تمنع انضمام مستقبلات ال اتش ار اتش في الغدة النخامية، والذي بدوره يمنع تركيب الهرمون، مما أدى إلى انخفاض في محتوى الأندروجينات. وعلى النقيض من منبهات ال اتش ار اتش، ال اتش ار اتش الخصوم، لا سبب اشتعال هرمون تستوستيرون.

وافقت واحد degarelix الدواء (Degarelix) لعلاج مرض في مراحل لاحقة. وقدم دخوله إلى الجسم عن طريق الحقن.

هرمون الاستروجين

هرمون الاستروجين - الهرمونات التي تساهم في تطوير الخصائص الجنسية للمرأة. على الرغم من أن هرمون الاستروجين يمكن أن تمنع الأندروجين التوليف في الخصيتين، ونادرا ما تستخدم هم اليوم بسبب الآثار السلبية للعلاج.

منع عمل الاندروجين في العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا

مضادات الأندروجين - الأدوية التي تتنافس للربط مع مستقبلات الاندروجين، مما يقلل من قدرة هرمونات الذكورة تسهم في تطوير الخلايا الخبيثة. يرجع ذلك إلى حقيقة أنه لا يوجد مضاد الاندروجين كتلة التوليف الاندروجين، ونادرا ما يتم استخدامها كعلاج وحيد لعلاج هذا المرض. في معظم الحالات، أوصى في تركيبة مع استئصال الخصية أو منبهات ال اتش ار اتش - ما يسمى الحصار الاندروجين مجتمعة أو انسداد كامل.

في علاج أورام البروستاتا تدار flutamide، enzalutamid، bicalutamide وnilutamide. من يتلقى شفويا في شكل أقراص.

عرقلة التوليف الاندروجين في الجسم كله

هذه الأدوية تمنع إنتاج الاندروجين من الغدد الكظرية، والخلايا الخبيثة والخصيتين. لا الإخصاء الطبي ولا الجراحي لا تمنع تركيب هرمونات الغدة الكظرية والخلايا السرطانية. على الرغم من أن المبلغ الذي تنتج، صغيرة، لكنها يمكن أن تكون كافية لدعم تطوير الخلايا الخبيثة في بعض الحالات.

تسمى هذه الأدوية أيضا مثبطات تخليق الاندروجين، كما أنها تقلل من محتوى التستوستيرون في الرجال أكثر من أي طريقة أخرى معروفة من علاج سرطان البروستاتا في إسرائيل . انهم منع تخليق هرمون بواسطة انزيم تثبيط دعا CYP17، وهي موجودة في أنسجة الخصية، الكظرية والبروستاتا السرطانية. انها تلعب دورا حاسما في تمكين الجسم على إنتاج هرمون التستوستيرون من الكولسترول.

عند علاج سرطان البروستاتا في اسوتا تطبيق ثلاثة الاندروجين التوليف المانع في شكل أقراص. اثنان منهم - الكيتوكونازول وأمينوغلوتيثيميد يستخدم أحيانا كعلاج الخط الثاني من هذا المرض. المانع الثالث - خلات abiraterone - في علاج أورام البروستاتا النقيلي.

أنواع من العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا في اسوتا

يدار العلاج الهرموني يؤجل بعد المعالجة الأولية للحد من مخاطر المرض العودة. أورام غدة البروستاتا في مراحل مبكرة مع مخاطر متوسطة أو عالية العائد بعد الإشعاع أو استئصال البروستاتا عادة ما تكون مؤشرا. لتحديد احتمال عودة يأخذ بعين الاعتبار العوامل التالية: النتيجة غليسون ، وانتشار المرض إلى الأنسجة المحيطة بها، وجود أو عدم وجود الخلايا السرطانية في الغدد الليمفاوية.

يتم تنفيذ المواد الجديدة المساعدة العلاج الهرموني قبل غيرها من الإجراءات. أورام البروستاتا الخبيثة في المراحل المبكرة مع مخاطر متوسطة أو عالية من تكرار تعتبر مؤشرا للعلاج بالهرمونات قبل أو أثناء التشعيع. هذا يطيل حياة المرضى، بدلا من إجراء العلاج الإشعاعي.

العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا بأنه وحيد

ويستخدم هذا النوع من العلاج في بعض الأحيان فقط لعلاج الملطفة أو الوقاية من أعراض المرض لسرطان البروستاتا، عندما يكون هناك موانع للجراحة أو العلاج الإشعاعي. في معظم الحالات هم المرضى الذين يعانون من محدودية العمر المتوقع، مع وجود ورم المحلية في مرحلة لاحقة أو غيرها من الأمراض الخطيرة.

من المستحسن العلاج الهرموني الوحيد لمرض المتكررة بعد العلاج الإشعاعي أو استئصال البروستاتا. وغالبا ما يشرع للمرضى الذين لديهم "الكيمياء الحيوية" الانتكاس - النمو السريع للمستضد البروستات محددة (PSA)، لا سيما إذا تضاعفت مستويات PSA في أقل من 12 شهرا. ومع ذلك، فإن زيادة حادة في PSA لا يعني بالضرورة أن سرطان البروستاتا قد عاد. لذلك، وإجراء العلاج بالهرمونات البديلة في حالة تكرار الكيمياء الحيوية أمر مثير للجدل إلى حد ما.

وأخيرا، يتم استخدام العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا وحده كعلاج القياسية لبؤر الورم الثانوي في الجسم، وعندما تم تشخيص حالته بأنه لأول مرة. هل زيادة معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة من الرجال الذين تم اكتشافه في مرحلة متأخرة، ولكن لم تكن هناك أعراض المرض، في حين لم تكن واضحة. بسبب آثار جانبية كبيرة، وبعض المرضى يفضلون عدم الذهاب للعلاج، لم تظهر علامات المرض.

مدة العلاج بالهرمونات البديلة في سرطان البروستاتا يعتمد على احتمال تكرار المرض، والتي يتم تحديدها عن طريق خطوة غليسون الدرجات والمحتوى PSA. وبالنسبة للرجال مع مخاطر متوسطة تتراوح مدة العلاج من أربع إلى ست أشهر، وهو أعلى مستوى - من سنتين إلى ثلاث سنوات.

سرطان البروستاتا غالبا ما يكفي، في البداية الاستجابة للعلاج الهرموني مع منبهات ال اتش ار اتش، ال اتش ار اتش الخصوم أو استئصال الخصية، ونتيجة لذلك، قد لا تستجيب للعلاج. في تشكيل الأورام مقاومة كافية مستويات الاندروجين أقل مما كانت عليه في الاندروجين سرطان استجابة.

الأطباء لا يمكن التنبؤ متى العلاج الهرموني لن تكون فعالة. ولذلك، الرجال الذين يعالجون من عدة أشهر، فمن الضروري للتحقق بانتظام محتوى PSA. قد تشير الزيادة في نمو السرطان. كميات عالية من PSA، التي لا تزال تنمو، على الرغم من أن العلاج الهرموني يحتفظ adrogenov مستويات منخفضة هي إشارة إلى أن المرض قد تصبح مقاومة للعلاج محددة معينة.

ما هي الخيارات لسرطان البروستاتا العلاج الهرموني مقاومة للعلاج؟

الأطباء في العيادة اسوتا يوصي الأساليب والأدوية التالية، تبعا للحالة الفردية للمرض:

  1. مضادات الأندروجين مثل flutamide، bicalutamide، nilutamide وenzalutamid.
  2. الاندروجين تركيب مثبطات - الكيتوكونازول، أمينوغلوتيثيميد وabiraterone خلات.
  3. العلاج المناعي باستخدام لقاح خلية -sipuleucel-T، والذي يستخدم خلايا الجهاز المناعي لجسم المريض على محاربة سرطان البروستاتا النقيلي الحرارية للعلاج الهرموني.
  4. العلاج بالأدوية السامة للخلايا، في معظم الأحيان مع DOCETAXEL. أوصى وكلاء الطبية الأخرى cabazitaxel لسرطان البروستاتا النقيلي إذا نفذت سابقا تلقي DOCETAXEL.
  5. الراديوم 223 كلوريد - الصيدلانية الإشعاعية وافقت لعلاج العظام النقيلي سرطان البروستاتا المقاوم للعلاج الهرموني. فإنه يتراكم في بؤر غير طبيعي للعظام وتنبعث الأشعة، التي تقتل الخلايا السرطانية.

المرضى الذين يعانون من علاج سرطان البروستاتا مقاومة للهرمون الحصول على هذه العلاجات وتستمر لأدوية الخط الأول، على سبيل المثال، منبهات ال اتش ار اتش، لتجنب زيادة كمية هرمون التستوستيرون من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى تطور الورم.

ما هي عواقب غير مقصودة من العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا؟

والأدوية والإخصاء الجراحي الحد بشكل كبير من كمية الاندروجين في الجسم. لأنها تستخدم من قبل العديد من الهيئات الأخرى، بالإضافة إلى البروستاتا وتطوير مجموعة واسعة من الأحداث السلبية:

  • فقدان الاهتمام بالجنس.
  • ضعف الانتصاب (العجز الجنسي).
  • المد والجزر.
  • فقدان كثافة العظام.
  • كسور في العظام.
  • فقدان كتلة العضلات والقوة البدنية.
  • التغيرات في نسبة الدهون في الدم.
  • مقاومة الانسولين.
  • فقدان الوزن.
  • تقلب المزاج.
  • التعب.
  • نمو أنسجة الثدي (التثدي).

مضاد الاندروجين يمكن أن يسبب الإسهال، الثدي مؤلمة، والغثيان، والهبات الساخنة، وضعف الرغبة الجنسية وضعف الانتصاب. وflutamide المخدرات يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تلف الكبد.

الأدوية التي توقف إنتاج الاندروجين الكظرية (الاندروجين مثبطات تخليق - الكيتوكونازول، أمينوغلوتيثيميد وabiraterone خلات) يمكن أن تثير الإسهال والحكة والطفح الجلدي، والتعب، وعدم القدرة على الانتصاب (مع الاستعمال لفترة طويلة) وربما تلف الكبد.

هرمون الاستروجين تجنب فقدان العظام، ولكنها تزيد من خطر الحوادث القلبية الوعائية، بما في ذلك النوبات القلبية والسكتات الدماغية. وبسبب هذه هرمون الاستروجين في حالات نادرة فمن المستحسن اليوم والعلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا.

يؤجل العلاج الهرموني بعد العلاج الإشعاعي يضعف بعض الآثار الجانبية للإشعاع. العديد من الآثار غير المرغوب فيها للعلاج هرمون هي قادرة على النمو مع زيادة مدة العلاج.

ما الذي يمكن عمله للحد من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج بالهرمونات لسرطان البروستاتا؟

الرجال التي تفقد كتلة العظام أثناء العلاج لفترات طويلة يمكن أن تدار الأدوية التي تؤخر والأعراض النشطة العكسية. الاستعدادات حمض زوليدرونيك وأليندرونات (تنتمي إلى فئة من البايفوسفونيت) زادت كثافة المعادن في العظام في الرجال الذين يعانون من هذا العلاج. وتمت الموافقة على دينوسوماب دواء جديد، مما يزيد من كتلة العظام عبر آلية مختلفة في عام 2011. ومع ذلك، ترتبط البايفوسفونيت ودينوسوماب مع الآثار الجانبية نادرة ولكنها خطيرة - تنخر العظم في الفك.

ممارسة يمكن أن تقلل من بعض الآثار الجانبية للعلاج بالهرمونات، بما في ذلك فقدان العظام وكتلة العضلات، وزيادة الوزن، والتعب، ومقاومة الأنسولين. والعديد من التجارب السريرية تدرس النشاط البدني بوصفه استراتيجية فعالة لوقف أو منع آثار غير مرغوب فيها من العلاج الهرموني لسرطان البروستاتا.

الآثار الجانبية الجنسية هي من بين تلك التي أصعب للقتال. الأدوية ضد عدم القدرة على الانتصاب، مثل فياغرا سيترات (Viagra®) عادة لا تفعل العمل في الرجال الذين يخضعون للعلاج الهرموني لأنها لا تؤثر على فقدان الرغبة الجنسية (الرغبة الجنسية).

تطبيق للعلاج

من خلال تقديم هذا النموذج يعني موافقتك على سياسة الخصوصية

تعليقات

لا تعليقات حتى الآن

تعليق جديد

بالضرورة

بالتأكيد (لن يتم نشره)

home

Hormone therapy for prostate cancer in Assuta

Hormone therapy for prostate cancer Hormones being biologically active substances, are produced in the human body to regulate its functions. They affect the activities of cells and tissues in various parts of the body by traveling through the bloodstream.

Androgens - is the name for a group of steroid male hormones that control the development and maintenance of secondary sex characteristics in men. Testosterone and dihydrotestosterone are the most common androgen. Almost all testosterone is synthesized in the testis, and a small amount is produced by the adrenal glands. Cancerous prostate cells may also have the ability to produce testosterone.

How hormones contribute to the development of prostate cancer?

Androgens are essential for normal growth and function of the prostate gland, an important organ in the male reproductive system, contributing to the creation of sperm. Male hormones contribute to the growth of both normal and cancer cells by binding to and activating the androgen receptor. Thereafter, they stimulate the expression of specific genes which cause growth of malignant segments.

At the beginning of the development of cancer cells require relatively high levels of androgens to grow. This type of cancer is called androgenozavisimym treatment here is intended to - reduce the amount of androgens or block its activity, suppress the growth and development of a malignant disease.

However, in most cases, these cells become resistant, they continue to grow even when the amount of androgen in the body is extremely low.

What types of hormone therapy for prostate cancer used in Assuta?

Cancer hormone therapy Prostate to the stop and the reduce the synthesis of androgens. The following procedures, the choice is determined by the characteristics of the particular case of the disease:

  1. Reducing production of male sex hormones in the testes.
  2. Blocking their actions in the body.
  3. Stopping production of androgens in the body.

Reducing production of male sex hormones in the testes

That the reduce androgen the Procedures synthesis in the testes, will most often the Carried out with hormone therapy for prostate cancer . These include orchiectomy, agonists releasing hormone luteinizing hormone (LHRH) agonists, anti-androgens, estrogens.

Orchiectomy in hormone therapy for prostate cancer

Orchiectomy - a surgical procedure to remove one or both testicles. It can lower blood testosterone levels by 90-95%. This type of treatment is called surgical castration, it is permanent and irreversible. Subcapsular orchiectomy represents only tissue resection producing androgens, not fully organ.

Hormone Agonists Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LHRH)

Drugs called agonists releasing hormone luteinizing hormone (LHRH), inhibit secretion of luteinizing hormone. LHRH agonists are sometimes called LHRH. This synthetic proteins that are structurally similar to natural LHRH, they bind to the LHRH receptors in the pituitary gland. (LHRH is also called gonadotropin-releasing hormone). 

Usually, when the level of androgens in the body is low, LHRH causes the pituitary gland to produce luteinizing hormone, which in turn contributes to the production of androgens in the testes. LHRH agonists, as synthesized by the body LHRH, luteinizing hormone facilitate formulation. However, persistently high levels of LHRH agonists in the body actually causes the pituitary to stop the production of luteinizing hormone that affects the synthesis of testosterone. LHRH agonist treatment is called medical castration (sometimes Chemical) because the drugs are used, reducing the content of androgens to the same extent as with surgical castration (orchiectomy). However, their influence on the production of androgens is reversible. Once treatment is stopped, the synthesis is usually resumed.

LHRH agonists are administered via injection or implantation beneath the skin. Drugs approved for the treatment of prostate cancer include leuprolide, goserelin, buserelin.

When patients receive the LHRH agonist for the first time, maybe such a thing as "testosterone flare." This temporary increase in hormone level is because these drugs for a short time to stimulate the pituitary gland to synthesize excessive amounts of LH before lock it. The flash is able to degrade the symptoms of the disease that can be a problem for men with advanced disease.

LHRH antagonists in hormone therapy for prostate cancer in Assuta

Medicines called LHRH antagonists are another form of medical castration. These medicines prevent the accession of LHRH receptors in the pituitary gland, which in turn prevents the synthesis of luteinizing hormone, resulting in a decrease in the content of androgens. In contrast to LHRH agonists, LHRH antagonists do not cause testosterone flare.

One of degarelix Pharmaceuticals (Degarelix) is approved for the treatment of a disease in later stages. It is introduced into the body via injection. 

estrogens

Estrogen - hormones that contribute to the development of female sexual characteristics. Although estrogens can also inhibit androgen synthesis in the testes, they are rarely used today because of the adverse effects of therapy.

Blocking androgen action in hormone therapy for prostate cancer

Antiandrogens - drugs that compete for binding with androgen receptors, thereby reducing the ability of male hormones contribute to the development of malignant cells. Due to the fact that no anti-androgens block androgen synthesis, they are rarely used as monotherapy for the treatment of this disease. In most cases, recommended in combination with orchiectomy or LHRH agonists - the so-called combined androgen blockade or complete blockage.

In the treatment of prostate tumors administered flutamide, enzalutamid, bicalutamide and nilutamide. Their receives orally in tablet form.

Blocking the synthesis of androgens in the whole body

These drugs block the production of androgens by the adrenal glands, malignant cells and testes. Neither medical nor surgical castration does not inhibit the synthesis of adrenal hormones and cancer cells. Although the amount they produce, small, but it can be enough to support the development of malignant cells in some cases.

Drugs also called These androgen synthesis inhibitors, as they lower the content of testosterone in men more so than any other known method of treating prostate cancer in Israel . They block the hormone synthesis by inhibiting enzyme called CYP17, which is found in testis, adrenal, and prostate tumor tissues. It plays a decisive role in enabling the body to produce testosterone from cholesterol.

When treating prostate cancer in Assutaapply three androgen synthesis inhibitor in the form of tablets. Two of them - ketoconazole and aminoglutethimide sometimes used as second-line treatment of this disease. Third inhibitor - abiraterone acetate - in the therapy of metastatic prostate tumors.

Types of hormone therapy for prostate cancer in Assuta

Adjuvant hormonal therapy is administered after the primary treatment to reduce the risk of the disease returning. Tumors of the prostate gland in the early stages with intermediate or high risk of return afterradiation or prostatectomyusually are an indication. To determine the probability of return takes into account the following factors:Gleason score , The spread of disease to surrounding tissues, the presence or absence of tumor cells in the lymph nodes.

Neoadjuvant hormone therapy is performed before other procedures. Malignant prostate tumors in the early stages with intermediate or high risk of recurrence is an indication for hormone therapy before or during irradiation. This prolongs the life of patients, as opposed to carrying out a radiotherapy.

Hormonal therapy of prostate cancer as a monotherapy

This type of therapy is sometimes used only for the palliative treatment or prevention of symptoms of the disease for localized prostate cancer, when there is a contraindication to surgery or radiotherapy. In the majority of cases are patients with limited life expectancy, with a localized tumor in the later stage or other serious pathologies.

Only hormone therapy is recommended for recurrent disease after radiation therapy or prostatectomy. It is often prescribed to patients who have a "biochemical" relapse - the rapid growth of prostate-specific antigen (PSA), especially if the PSA levels doubled in less than 12 months. However, the sharp increase in PSA does not necessarily mean that prostate cancer had returned. Therefore, conducting hormone replacement therapy in the case of biochemical recurrence is somewhat controversial.

Finally, hormone therapy for prostate cancer is used alone as the standard treatment for secondary tumor foci in the body, when he was first diagnosed. Does it increase the survival rate of men whose disease was discovered at a late stage, but the symptoms are absent, yet sufficiently clear. Due to significant side effects, some patients prefer not to go to treatment, has not shown signs of the disease.

Of duration of The hormone replacement therapy in prostate cancer the depends on the likelihood of disease recurrence, as with the step by a determined, the PSA and Gleason grading content. For men with intermediate-risk therapy duration is four to six months, a high - from two to three years.

Quite often, prostate tumor, initially respond to hormone therapy with LHRH agonists, LHRH antagonists or orchiectomy, as a result, may not respond to treatment. In the formation of resistant tumors sufficient lower androgen levels than in androgen responsive cancer.

Doctors can not predict how long the hormone therapy will be effective. Therefore, men being treated for several months, it is necessary to regularly check the content of PSA. Its increase may indicate cancer growth. High amounts of PSA, which continues to grow, despite the fact that hormone therapy keeps adrogenov low levels is an indication that the disease has become resistant to a given specific treatment.

What are the options for therapy-resistant prostate cancer hormone therapy?

Doctors at the clinic Assuta recommend the following methods and drugs, depending on the individual case of the disease:

  1. Antiandrogens such as flutamide, bicalutamide, nilutamide and enzalutamid.
  2. Androgen synthesis inhibitors - ketoconazole, aminoglutethimide and abiraterone acetate.
  3. Immunotherapy using cell vaccine -sipuleucel-T, which uses cells of the immune system of the body of the patient to fight metastatic prostate cancer refractory to hormonal therapy.
  4. Treatment with cytotoxic drugs, most frequently with docetaxel. Other medicinal agents cabazitaxel recommended for metastatic prostate cancer if the previously implemented receiving docetaxel.
  5. Radium 223 dichloride - radiopharmaceutical approved for the treatment of metastatic bone prostate cancer resistant to hormone therapy. It accumulates in abnormal foci of bone and emits radiation, which kills cancer cells.

Patients with hormone-resistant prostate cancer treatment receive these treatments and continue to the first line drugs, for instance, LHRH agonists, to avoid increasing the amount of testosterone that will lead to tumor progression.

What are the unintended consequences of hormone therapy for prostate cancer?

And medication and surgical castration significantly reduce the amount of androgen in the body. Because they are used by many other bodies, in addition to the prostate, develops a wide range of adverse events:

  • Loss of interest in sex.
  • Erectile dysfunction (impotence).
  • Tides.
  • Loss of bone density.
  • Fractures of the bones.
  • Loss of muscle mass and physical strength.
  • Changes in blood lipids.
  • Insulin resistance.
  • weight loss.
  • mood swings.
  • Fatigue.
  • Breast tissue growth (gynecomastia).

Anti-androgens can cause diarrhea, painful breasts, nausea, hot flashes, libido weakening and erectile dysfunction. The drug flutamide can lead to liver damage.

Medications that stop the production of adrenal androgens (androgen synthesis inhibitors - ketoconazole, aminoglutethimide and abiraterone acetate) can provoke diarrhea, itching and rash, fatigue, erectile dysfunction (with prolonged use) and possibly liver damage.

Estrogens avoid bone loss, but they increase the risk of cardiovascular events, including heart attacks and strokes. Because of these estrogens in rare cases it is recommended today as hormonal therapy for prostate cancer.

Adjuvant hormone therapy after radiation therapy impairs some side effects of radiation. Many of the undesirable effects of hormone treatment are able to grow with increasing duration of therapy.

What can be done to reduce the side effects of hormone therapy for prostate cancer?

Men which lose bone mass during prolonged treatment may be administered medications which retard and reverse active symptoms. Preparations zoledronic acid and alendronate (belong to the class of bisphosphonates) increased bone mineral density in men with this therapy. The new drug denosumab, which increases bone mass via a different mechanism was approved in 2011. However, bisphosphonates and denosumab are associated with a rare but serious side effect - osteonecrosis of the jaw.

Exercise can reduce some of the side effects of hormone therapy, including the loss of bone and muscle mass, weight gain, fatigue, and insulin resistance. Several clinical trials are considering physical activity as an effective strategy to reverse or prevent the undesirable effects of hormone therapy for prostate cancer.

Sexual side effects are among those with which the most difficult to fight. Drugs against erectile dysfunction, such as sildenafil citrate (Viagra®) usually do not work in men undergoing hormonal therapy because they do not affect the loss of libido (sexual desire).

APPLICATION FOR TREATMENT

Comments

No comments yet

new comment

necessarily

definitely (will not be published)